November: Adoption Awareness month

This month provides an opportunity to celebrate and promote awareness about adoption.

Adoption in BC is governed by a provincial law called the Adoption Act. Anyone who lives permanently in BC can apply to adopt, including opposite- and same-sex couples.

There are four different types of adoptions:

  • placement by the director of adoption (who works for the Ministry of Children and Family Development),
  • placement by an adoption agency,
  • direct placement (when the birth parent places a child with a non-relative), and
  • relative adoption (adoption by a relative or step-parent).

Want to learn more?

A good place to start is with Clicklaw’s commonly asked questions:q+a icon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *